Fight Life Media


Festibrawl: Ford, Perez, Larkin Victorious in Title Bids

Friday Nights Festibrawl showed everyone once again why Tuff-N-Uff is the Undisputed Pound for Pound Champion of Amateur MMA. With 14 bouts on the card, including 3 Title Fights, Festibrawl went off without a hitch and showed off some of the top amateur talent on the west coast. Kerry Hartney's match-making proved spot on with some exceptional bouts that entertained the near capacity crowd at South Point Hotel & Casino. Luta Elite fighter Brenna Larkin grinded her way to a 125lb Title win over the very game Cynthia Calvillo.  Both women showed exceptional heart in a 3 round fight that saw action standing, in the clinch, on the ground and everywhere else a fight can take place. Larkin conrolled the first round on the ground and the third round on her feet on her way to a Unanimous Decision nod.

The second Title Fight of the Night and MJ's pick for Fight of the Night was an epic battle between Daniel Jimenez and Mikey Perez. The 180lb Title Fight displayed two well rounded fighters looking to solidify themselves as the true number one. The "Battle of the Pretty Boys" was an instant classic and a must see. Coming into the 3rd, Mikey Perez caught "Pretty Boi Savage" with a solid head kick that lead to a Guillotine Finish. Perez has paid his dues to get where he is and is progressing nicely as a mixed martial artist.

The final fight of the night featured Lenon "Zulu" Ford VS. Jon Mesa for the 165lb Title. Jon Mesa scored an early take down and was landing some effective ground and pound until he got caught in a slick arm bar. Ford's transition to a sick belly down finish left no choice but to tap. "Zulu" will now make a run for the 155lb Title and is slated to fight Shane Johnson in Mesquite on March 23rd for the Lightweight Strap.

Festibrawl Full Results (March 1, 2013)

Ricky Garcia defeated Tommy Morales via 1st Round Guillotine

Joseph Williams defeated James Munoz via Unanimous Decision

Jamin Tayaba defeated Justin Ebert via 3rd Round TKO

Deangelo Yates defeated Bobby Tierra via 1st Round RNC

John Bravo defeated Bronson Sabado via Unanimous Decision

De' Andre Marshall defeated Jose Munoz via 1st Round TKO (Dr. Stoppage)

Chad Edralin defeated Brian Bashant via 2nd Round TKO (Dr. Stoppage)

Caleb Contrelras defeated Eric Jordan via 3rd Round RNC

Vadim Goberman defeated Ahmad Sanatyar via 2nd Round Guillotine

David Arcangel defeated Ramon Hernandez via 1st Round TKO (MJ's Finish/TKO of the Night)

Marco Lopez defeated Regis Spicer via 2nd Round RNC

Brenna Larkin defeated Cynthia Calvillo via Unanimous Decision (Womens 125lb Title)

Mikey Perez defeated Daniel Jimenez via 3rd Round Guillotine (180lb Title) (MJ's Fight of the Night)

Lenon Ford defeated Jon Mesa via 1st Round Arm Bar (165lb Title) (MJ's Submission of the Night)

See you in Mequite!